Kuelscheier – a narrow rock crevic

The Kuelscheier is a narrow, pitch-dark rock crevice in the Luxembourg sandstone. It runs over a distance of about 100 metres parallel to the valley of the Härdbaach stream. The nearby Rittergang and the Déiwepëtz are also such crevices. They opened up because huge blocks of rock along fissures detached from the rock face and slipped a little way down the valley.

Opposite the Kuelscheier, groundwater gushes out at one of the region’s numerous springs. It is fed by water that seeped away as rainwater on the plateau.  The water that has seeped away collects at the base of the sandstone and flows over clayey marl strata to the springs.

 

On the geological map one can see a narrow strip of red (ko) and dark blue (li1) colour in the Härdbaach valley. Here, the clayey strata that are beneath the sandstone (light blue, li2) emerge at the surface. The sandstone blocks on them may slide towards the valley.
The historical postcard shows the rocks of the Kuelscheier at a time when the valley was not completely wooded. The name Kuelscheier can probably be traced back to the former production of charcoal. The rock crevices may have been used as barns (“Scheier”) for storing coal (“Kuel”).

 

Natural & Cultural Heritage info

Kuelscheier – une étroite crevasse

Le Kuelscheier est une crevasse étroite et sombre dans le grès de Luxembourg. Il s’étend sur environ 100 mètres, parallèlement à la vallée du ruisseau Härdbaach. Les passages rocheux du Rittergang voisin et du Déiwepëtz sont également des crevasses de ce type. Elles se sont développées, car d’énormes blocs rocheux se sont détachés de la paroi le long des failles et qu’une petite partie a glissé vers la vallée.

En face du Kuelscheier, de l’eau souterraine jaillit de l’une des nombreuses sources de la région. Elle est alimentée par de l’eau de pluie qui s’est infiltrée sur le plateau. L’eau infiltrée s’accumule à la base du grès et s’écoule au-dessus des couches de marne argileuse en direction des sources.

 

Sur la carte géologique on voit dans la vallée du Härdbaach une étroite bande de couleurs rouge (ko) et bleu foncé (li1). C’est ici que les couches argileuses se trouvant sous le grès (bleu clair, li2) apparaissent à la surface. Les blocs de grès peuvent glisser sur elles en direction de la vallée.
La carte postale historique montre les rochers du Kuelscheier à une époque où la vallée n’était pas encore entièrement boisée. « Kuelscheier » tient probablement son nom de l’ancienne production de charbon de bois. Les crevasses étaient peut-être utilisées en tant que granges (« Scheier ») pour entreposer le charbon (« Kuel »).

 

Informations sur le patrimoine