Month of the orchard 2020

Juicy diversity in the Natur- & Geopark Mëllerdall

The orchard meadows (LU Bongerten) are characteristic features of the Natur- & Geopark Mëllerdall region. These are part of the cultural and natural heritage and shape the region in many ways. The high-quality fruit of the orchard meadows have always been used for a wide variety of purposes. Even today, local producers still refine the fruit of the orchard meadows into delicious and regionally typical products (apple juice, brandies, cider and many more).

For this reason, the Natur- & Geopark Mëllerdall has decided to organise the “Mount vum Bongert” in 2020, together with its partners Office Régional du Tourisme – Région Mullerthal – Petite Suisse Luxembourgeoise (ORT-MPSL), Leader Region Mëllerdall, Administration de la nature et des forêts (ANF) and Mëllerdaller Produzenten a.s.b.l. This year’s edition took place between the 20th September and the 25th October and invited visitors to discover the orchards of the Mëllerdall.

Culinary highlights

During the “Mount vum Bongert”, various restaurants in the region created menus using both the refined orchard products and fresh fruits from the region’s orchard meadows.

Léierbongert (didactic orchard)

Between the 29th September and the 21st October, 15 school classes from Cycle 3 and 4 (190 children in total) from 3 communes of the Natur- & Geopark Mëllerdall visited the first “Léierbongert” in Luxembourg. The children had to solve tasks at 8 stations in the fields of mathematics, sciences, French, German and Luxembourgish. The “Léierbongert” was also open to the public from the 28th September to the 5th October.

In the didactic orchard in Rosport children discover orchard meadows.

Fruit varieties Drive-In

Those lucky enough to own a orchard meadow or even single fruit trees at home, had the opportunity to have their apple and pear varieties determined by pomologist Richard Dahlem at the two Drive-Ins in Born and in Schrondweiler. The two Drive-ins were a great success.

Rare apple varieties such as « Lütticher Ananaskalvill » and « Gelbe Schafsnase » have been localised and will be used, after consultation with the owners, to propagate these rare trees and preserve the varieties in the long term.

For the whole family

On October 10th a picking event in an orchard in Bech took place, where apples, pears and even walnuts were picked and collected.

Exactly one week later, the little ones were able to press apple juice together with the ANF in Echternach and could take their own apple juice home with them.

At the Generatiounsgaart in Beaufort, school classes also learned how to make delicious juice from apples and how to make apple compote on the fireplace.

Traditional festivals

Besides the activities of the Natur- & Geopark Mëllerdall, the traditional plum and apple juice festivals took place for example in Cruchten on the 19 th and the 20th September and in Echternach on 10th and 11th October. During these festivals, the importance of the orchards is celebrated annually.

Due to the success and the high demand for all of these activities during the first edition of the “Mount vum Bongert”, the Natur- & Geopark Mëllerdall has decided to organise this event series every year and also to extend the range of activities. With this event we would like to celebrate the orchard meadows annually.

The entire team of the Natur- & Geopark Mëllerdall would like to thank everyone who took part in the first “Mount vum Bongert”. We are already looking forward to the next orchard season.

Mois des pré-vergers 2020

Variété juteuse dans le Natur- & Geopark Mëllerdall

Les prés-vergers (LU: Bongerten) sont des éléments caractéristiques de la région du Natur- & Geopark Mëllerdall. Ceux-ci font partie du patrimoine culturel et naturel et façonnent la région. Depuis le début, les fruits des pré-vergers ont été utilisés à des fins très diverses. Aujourd’hui encore, les producteurs locaux en raffinent en produits délicieux et typiques de la région (jus de pommes, eaux-de-vie fines, cidre et bien plus).

Pour cette raison, le Natur- & Geopark Mëllerdall a décidé de lancer le « Mount vum Bongert » avec les partenaires Office Régional du Tourisme – Région Mullerthal – Petite Suisse Luxembourgeoise (ORT-MPSL), Leader Regioun Mëllerdall, Administration de la nature et des forêts (ANF) et Mëllerdaller Produzenten asbl. Celui-ci s’est déroulé du 20 septembre au 25 octobre 2020 et a invité tout public à découvrir les vergers du Mullerthal.

L’heure du gourmet

Différents restaurants de la région proposaient des menus spéciaux pendant le « Mount vum Bongert » dans lesquels des produits raffinés des vergers et des fruits frais de la région ont été intégrés.

Léierbongert (verger didactique)

Du 29 septembre au 21 octobre 15 classes des cycles 3 et 4 (190 enfants au total) de 3 communes du Natur- & Geopark Mëllerdall ont ​​visité le premier « Léierbongert » au Luxembourg. Les enfants ont pu résoudre des exercices sur 8 stations dans les matières mathématiques, sciences, français, allemand et luxembourgeois. Le « Léierbongert » était également accessible au public du 28 septembre au 5 octobre.

Dans le verger didactique à Rosport les enfants ont découvert le pré verger.

Drive-in variétés fruitières

Si vous avez la chance de posséder un pré-verger ou des arbres fruitiers à la maison, vous pouviez faire déterminer vos variétés de pommes et de poires par le pomologiste M. Richard Dahlem à Born à Schrondweiler. Les deux drive-in ont été un grand succès.

Des variétés rares telles que la « Lütticher Ananaskalvill » (pomme) et la « Gelbe Schafsnase » (pomme) ont été localisées et seront utilisées, avec le consentement des propriétaires, pour propager ces arbres rares et conserver les variétés à long terme.

Pour toute la famille

Le 10 octobre, une récolte dans un pré-verger à Bech a été organisée où des pommes, des poires et même des noix ont été cueillies et récoltées.

Exactement une semaine plus tard, les tout-petits pouvaient se mettre au travail. Ensemble avec l’ANF, les enfants ont pressé des pommes à Echternach et emporter leur propre jus à la maison.

Dans le jardin des générations de Beaufort, des classes scolaires ont appris comment faire un délicieux jus de pommes et à faire cuire des pommes mijotées sur le feu.

Fêtes traditionnelles

A part des activités du Natur- & Geopark Mëllerdall, les fêtes traditionnelles de la prune (LU: Quetschefest) et du jus de pomme (LU: Vizfest) ont eu lieu dans la région, ceci p. ex. à Cruchten les 19 et 20 septembre et à Echternach les 10 et 11 octobre, où l’importance des pré-vergers est célébrée depuis des années.

En raison du succès et de la forte demande pour les activités du « Mount vum Bongert », le Natur- & Geopark Mëllerdall a décidé de l’organiser dorénavant chaque année en élargissant l’offre pour célébrer les pré-vergers.

Toute l’équipe du Natur- & Geopark Mëllerdall tient à remercier tous ceux qui ont participé au premier « Mount vum Bongert ». Nous attendons déjà avec impatience la prochaine saison des vergers.