Kuelscheier – a narrow rock crevic

The Kuelscheier is a narrow, pitch-dark rock crevice in the Luxembourg sandstone. It runs over a distance of about 100 metres parallel to the valley of the Härdbaach stream. The nearby Rittergang and the Déiwepëtz are also such crevices. They opened up because huge blocks of rock along fissures detached from the rock face and slipped a little way down the valley.

Opposite the Kuelscheier, groundwater gushes out at one of the region’s numerous springs. It is fed by water that seeped away as rainwater on the plateau.  The water that has seeped away collects at the base of the sandstone and flows over clayey marl strata to the springs.

 

On the geological map one can see a narrow strip of red (ko) and dark blue (li1) colour in the Härdbaach valley. Here, the clayey strata that are beneath the sandstone (light blue, li2) emerge at the surface. The sandstone blocks on them may slide towards the valley.
The historical postcard shows the rocks of the Kuelscheier at a time when the valley was not completely wooded. The name Kuelscheier can probably be traced back to the former production of charcoal. The rock crevices may have been used as barns (“Scheier”) for storing coal (“Kuel”).

 

Natural & Cultural Heritage info

Kuelscheier – eine enge Felsspalte

Die Kuelscheier ist eine schmale, stockdunkle Felsspalte im Luxemburger Sandstein.
Sie verläuft auf einer Länge von etwa 100 Metern parallel zum Tal des Baches Härdbaach. Auch beim benachbarten Rittergang und dem Déiwepëtz handelt es sich um solche Spalten. Sie öffneten sich, weil sich riesige Felsblöcke entlang von Klüften von der Felswand lösten und ein kleines Stück talwärts rutschten.

Gegenüber der Kuelscheier tritt an einer der zahlreichen Quellen der Region Grundwasser aus. Sie wird durch Wasser gespeist, das als Regenwasser auf dem Plateau versickerte. Das versickerte Wasser sammelt sich an der Basis des Sandsteins und fließt über tonigen Mergelschichten zu den Quellen.

 

Auf der geologischen Karte sieht man im Tal des Härdbaachs einen schmalen Streifen roter (ko) und dunkelblauer (li1) Farbe. Hier treten die tonigen Schichten an die Oberfläche, die sich unter dem Sandstein (hellblau, li2) befinden. Auf ihnen können die Sandsteinblöcke in Richtung Tal rutschen.
Die historische Postkarte zeigt die Felsen der Kuelscheier in einer Zeit, in der das Tal nicht vollständig bewaldet war. Der Name Kuelscheier lässt sich vermutlich auf die frühere Holzkohleproduktion zurückführen. Die Felsspalten wurden vielleicht als Scheunen („Scheier“) zur Lagerung der Kohle („Kuel“) verwendet.

 

Informationen zum Natur- und Kulturerbe