Month of the orchard 2020

Juicy diversity in the Natur- & Geopark Mëllerdall

The orchard meadows (LU Bongerten) are characteristic features of the Natur- & Geopark Mëllerdall region. These are part of the cultural and natural heritage and shape the region in many ways. The high-quality fruit of the orchard meadows have always been used for a wide variety of purposes. Even today, local producers still refine the fruit of the orchard meadows into delicious and regionally typical products (apple juice, brandies, cider and many more).

For this reason, the Natur- & Geopark Mëllerdall has decided to organise the “Mount vum Bongert” in 2020, together with its partners Office Régional du Tourisme – Région Mullerthal – Petite Suisse Luxembourgeoise (ORT-MPSL), Leader Region Mëllerdall, Administration de la nature et des forêts (ANF) and Mëllerdaller Produzenten a.s.b.l. This year’s edition took place between the 20th September and the 25th October and invited visitors to discover the orchards of the Mëllerdall.

Culinary highlights

During the “Mount vum Bongert”, various restaurants in the region created menus using both the refined orchard products and fresh fruits from the region’s orchard meadows.

Léierbongert (didactic orchard)

Between the 29th September and the 21st October, 15 school classes from Cycle 3 and 4 (190 children in total) from 3 communes of the Natur- & Geopark Mëllerdall visited the first “Léierbongert” in Luxembourg. The children had to solve tasks at 8 stations in the fields of mathematics, sciences, French, German and Luxembourgish. The “Léierbongert” was also open to the public from the 28th September to the 5th October.

In the didactic orchard in Rosport children discover orchard meadows.

Fruit varieties Drive-In

Those lucky enough to own a orchard meadow or even single fruit trees at home, had the opportunity to have their apple and pear varieties determined by pomologist Richard Dahlem at the two Drive-Ins in Born and in Schrondweiler. The two Drive-ins were a great success.

Rare apple varieties such as « Lütticher Ananaskalvill » and « Gelbe Schafsnase » have been localised and will be used, after consultation with the owners, to propagate these rare trees and preserve the varieties in the long term.

For the whole family

On October 10th a picking event in an orchard in Bech took place, where apples, pears and even walnuts were picked and collected.

Exactly one week later, the little ones were able to press apple juice together with the ANF in Echternach and could take their own apple juice home with them.

At the Generatiounsgaart in Beaufort, school classes also learned how to make delicious juice from apples and how to make apple compote on the fireplace.

Traditional festivals

Besides the activities of the Natur- & Geopark Mëllerdall, the traditional plum and apple juice festivals took place for example in Cruchten on the 19 th and the 20th September and in Echternach on 10th and 11th October. During these festivals, the importance of the orchards is celebrated annually.

Due to the success and the high demand for all of these activities during the first edition of the “Mount vum Bongert”, the Natur- & Geopark Mëllerdall has decided to organise this event series every year and also to extend the range of activities. With this event we would like to celebrate the orchard meadows annually.

The entire team of the Natur- & Geopark Mëllerdall would like to thank everyone who took part in the first “Mount vum Bongert”. We are already looking forward to the next orchard season.

Mount vum Bongert 2020

Saftige Vielfalt im Natur- & Geopark Mëllerdall

Die Streuobstwiesen (LU: Bongerten) sind charakteristische Bestandteile der Region des Natur- & Geopark Mëllerdall. Sie gehören zum kulturellen und natürlichen Erbe und prägen die Region auf vielfältige Weise. Seit jeher wird das hochwertige Obst der Bongerten für die unterschiedlichsten Zwecke genutzt. Auch heute noch veredeln lokale Produzenten das Obst der Bongerten zu leckeren und regionaltypischen Produkten (Apfelsaft, Edelbrände, Apfelwein u.v.m.).

Aus diesem Grund hat sich der Natur- & Geopark Mëllerdall dazu entschlossen, ab dem Jahr 2020 den „Mount vum Bongert“ zusammen mit seinen Partnern, dem Office Régional du Tourisme – Région Mullerthal – Petite Suisse Luxembourgeoise (ORT-MPSL), dem Leader Regioun Mëllerdall, der Administration de la nature et des forêts (ANF) und den Mëllerdaller Produzenten a.s.b.l. zu organisieren. Dieser fand vom 20. September bis zum 25. Oktober 2020 statt und lud dazu ein, die Streuobstwiesen des Müllerthals aus den verschiedensten Perspektiven zu entdecken.

Kulinarische Highlights

Verschiedene Restaurants der Region haben während des „Mount vum Bongert“ Menüs kreiert, bei denen sowohl veredelte Streuobstwiesenprodukte, als auch frisches Obst aus den Bongerten der Region verarbeitet wurden.

Léierbongert

Vom 29. September bis zum 21. Oktober haben 15 Klassen aus den Zyklen 3 und 4 (insgesamt 190 Kinder) aus 3 Gemeinden des Natur- & Geopark Mëllerdall den ersten Léierbongert in Luxemburg besucht. Die Kinder konnten an 8 Stationen Aufgaben zu den Fächern Mathematik, Wissenschaften, Französisch, Deutsch und Luxemburgisch lösen. Der Léierbongert war auch für die Öffentlichkeit vom 28. September bis zum 5. Oktober frei zugänglich.

Kinder entdecken die Streuobstwiesen im „Léierbongert“ in Rosport.

Sorten Drive-In

Wer das Glück hat, selbst zu Hause eine Streuobstwiese oder einzelne Obstbäume zu besitzen, konnte bei den beiden Sorten Drive-Ins in Born und in Schrondweiler seine Apfel- und Birnensorten vom Pomologen Richard Dahlem bestimmen lassen. Die beiden Sorten Drive-Ins waren ein voller Erfolg.

Seltene Apfelsorten wie der Lütticher Ananaskalvill und die Gelbe Schafsnase wurden lokalisiert und werden nach Absprache mit den Besitzern genutzt, um diese seltenen Bäume zu vermehren und die Sorten langfristig zu erhalten.

Für die ganze Familie

Weiter ging es dann, am 10. Oktober, in einer Streuobstwiese in Bech, wo Äpfel, Birnen und sogar Walnüsse geertntet wurden.

Genau eine Woche später konnten dann die Kleinen ans Werk. Mit der ANF haben die Kinder in Echternach Äpfel zu Saft gepresst und diesen stolz mit nach Hause genommen.

Auch im Generatiounsgaart in Beaufort konnten Schulklassen erfahren, wie man aus Äpfeln leckeren Saft herstellt und Apfelkompott auf dem Feuer kocht.

Traditionsfeste

Neben den Aktivitäten vom Natur- & Geopark Mëllerdall fanden in der Region auch die traditionellen Zwetschgen- und Viz-Feste statt wie z. B. in Cruchten am 19. und 20. September und in Echternach am 10. und 11. Oktober, bei denen die wichtige Rolle, die Streuobstwiesen in unserer Region spielen, seit Jahren gefeiert wird.

Wegen des großen Erfolges und der hohen Nachfrage bei all diesen Aktivitäten, hat der Natur- & Geopark Mëllerdall sich dazu entschlossen, den „Mount vum Bongert“ jedes Jahr zu organisieren und auch das Angebot zu erweitern, um jährlich die Bongerten gebührend zu feiern.

Das gesamte Team des Natur- & Geopark Mëllerdall möchte sich hiermit nochmal recht herzlich bei allen bedanken, die beim ersten „Mount vum Bongert“ mitgewirkt haben. Wir freuen uns bereits jetzt auf die nächste Bongerten-Saison.